48: Love language

A Thousand Things to Talk About
48: Love language

lovelanguageToday, we’re talking about love.

What’s your language of love?

Show notes and links:
Speaking the Language of Relational Maintenance: A Validity Test of Chapman’s (1992) Five Love Languages
The 5 Love Languages (Amazon)

Full episode text

In 1995, a book written by Gary Chapman suggested that there were five distinct “love languages” – gifts, quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service or devotion, and physical touch. These languages, Chapman argued, all express love, just in different ways. A number of books have been written since then, and a new edition was released in 2015. The love languages have remained a popular theory, and many, many people have claimed to find usefulness in them.

A 2006 study by Nichole Egbert and Denise Polk found that Chapman’s love languages have statistical relationships to a 2000 study that examined “relational maintenance typology.” Meaning that having an idea of how you, personally, both prefer to express and receive indications of love is important, and Chapman’s love languages may actually have some statistical validity.